The Independent Financial Review Panel (IFRP) has today published a Determination (PDF) which sets the salaries and Allowances of Assembly Members for the additional year of the current mandate.

The IFRP is permitted by legislation to publish one Determination for each Assembly mandate. The Determination published in March 2012 provided for Assembly Members’ salaries, allowances and pension for the period of the current mandate which at that time was scheduled to end in May 2015.

The Panel is permitted to make a further Determination in a mandate if there are exceptional circumstances. The recent extension of the length of the current and future mandates of the Northern Ireland Assembly from four years to five years means that the current mandate will now end in 2016. There are a number of provisions in the current Determination which will cease to apply after 31 March 2015 thus making it necessary in these “exceptional circumstances” to have a new Determination to cover the additional year of the mandate.

From 1 April 2015 to the end of the mandate, Members’ salaries and office holder allowances will remain at the current level; Office Costs Expenses will be reduced by a further 3% to £67,161. In the case of an Assembly Member who is also a Member of Parliament, Office Costs Expenses will be reduced from £8,655 to zero.

A copy of the Determination is available on the IFRP website: or by telephone from the Secretary to the Panel
(Tel: 90521252).


Notes to Editors:

The Independent Financial Review Panel was established by the Northern Ireland Assembly Members (Independent Financial Review and Standards) Act 2011. Determinations made by the Panel are not subject to approval by the Assembly or the Assembly Commission.

The Panel Chair and members are as follows:

Patrick McCartan, CBE, MSc (Dist), FCIPD.

Dr Henrietta Campbell CB, MD, FRCP
Alan McQuillan OBE BSc (Hons) MBA

Information on the Independent Review Panel can be found at

For more information please contact:

Georgie Campbell
Independent Financial Review Panel
Room 239
Parliament Buildings

Tel: 028 9052 1252